Due to essential network maintenance, access to some online services including the viewing of digital images will be temporarily unavailable between 5 pm and 8 pm AEST on Sunday, 22 September 2019. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.


The Library’s vibrant awards program continues to bring together writers and readers to celebrate and promote excellence in literature and history.  

Contact us for more information.

Sign up to Receive the Awards newsletter

National Biography Award


Total prize money $42,000 

Winner announced on 12 August 2019

NSW Premier's History Awards


Total prize money $75,000

Winners announced.

NSW Premier's Literary Awards


Entries now open

Entries close 5pm, Monday 14 October 2019


Ashurst Business Literature Prize


Total prize money $30,000

Entries for the 2020 Prize will open in December 2019

Shortstacks Film Festival

Inaugural prize.

Total prize money $20,000.

Winner announced.

2018 Mona Brand Award Winners

Biennial - next presented in 2020

Total prize money $40,000

2018 winners: Lucy Knox (Emerging Writer), Patricia Cornelius (Mona Brand Award Winner)


Express your interest to become a judge

Love reading? Get in touch with us. 

Awards in association with the State Library of NSW

Miles Franklin Award

Annual award of $60,000.

Nita B. Kibble Literary Awards

Biennial award of $30,000.

Dobbie Literary Award

Biennial award of $5,000.